PDA

View Full Version : Name me some tunes!

Kiro
28-08-2005, 20:45
I've recently fallen in love with choral music. I can't remember where I got it from, but I happened upon Adagio For Strings and I almost cried :cries:
Cliched, I know, but hey, different strokes for different folks....
Anyway, I took me all of five minutes to realise I'm no expert in the area, but I need to add some more of this music to my collection.
I've been trying to track down the intro music for Halo 1 & 2 (with the cliches again...) but I can't seem to find the title tracks. I also managed to get a hold of Requiem in D Minor but I need more!
Anybody want to make any recommendations?
What do you think about this type of music?

Bmaxwell
28-08-2005, 21:12
If you like Orcahest music pick up the requiem for a dream soundtrack entire soundtrack is a string quartet. very good stuff right there.

Kiro
28-08-2005, 21:16
Ah, but is there a choir in it?

Bmaxwell
28-08-2005, 21:32
i don't think so sorry! :(

Kiro
28-08-2005, 21:42
Grrr!!!
Oh well, thanks anyway Bmaxwell, I'll check it out, but I'm mainly after something choral...

Xhalax
28-08-2005, 22:06
Adagio For Strings is by Barber (if it's the same one I'm thinking of) and it features in the film Platoon and it's an amazing piece, I love it and it nearly always brings tears to my eyes too.

Choral music, I can't really advise you on. I'm more into classical than anything else.
But I would say have a look at the Pier Gynt suite as there are some fantastic pieces (such as Morning and In the Hall of the Mountain King) in there....again more classical than choral...but still worth a look.

Kiro
28-08-2005, 22:32
Phew, thanks Xhalax, I thought I was alone ;)

Xhalax
28-08-2005, 22:39
Nope.

Platoon is one of the few films...thanks to it's brilliant soundtrack that show my up for the girlie girl that i actually am. But it is a beautiful piece that I adore.

CELS
28-08-2005, 22:55