PDA

View Full Version : Bolt throwers on the flank



havoc626
07-09-2007, 07:14
This is a question that I thought of while reading the rules of Bolt Throwers.

What happens if a squad is shot at by a Bolt Thrower from their flank? Does it only effect one line from the front (as it says that a Bolt thrower goes through ranks), or does lodgic come into play and it hits the rank from the side and hits those models.

e.g. A bolt thrower shoots a a squad of 5 knights from the knights flank and the knights are in only one rank, what happens?

P.S. Sorry if it is difficult to know what I'm trying to say, but it is a bit difficult without having a visual to show you.

Festus
07-09-2007, 07:24
Hi

First: There are no squads in WHFB, we have units and regiments.

And logic comes into play here, as more often than not. If a BT hits a unit in the flank, the files are counted for *ranks*, so the Bolt actually penetrates files...

Festus

Urgat
07-09-2007, 08:37
Dude, there's even a pic in the rulebook showing how it's done :/

theunwantedbeing
07-09-2007, 16:05
Seems urgat beat to it giving the obious answer....
If you look towards page 91 of your rulebook you get a whole bunch of nice clear diagrams about how to work it all out.

Flick back to page 89 and you'll see the differences between a bolt thrower shot and a cannonball shot.

^_^