PDA

View Full Version : 2000pts Non-Cheesy Empire Engineering

mistformsquirrel
20-09-2007, 01:33
At least, the goal is to make it non-Cheesy. Please don't beat me up too hard over this though; I'm still pretty new at this, and I have the tendency to underestimate the value of some things!

I really wanted to include a Master Engineer, but after re-re-re-looking at it, there was just no way to justify putting him in. So instead I have the Outrider Champion and Handgunner Marksman both "engineer" items to make up for it.

The idea obviously is to avoid a "gunline" even though I have a lot of blackpowder shooting. In addition to all that shooting, I have 125 Halberdiers (chosen more for the fact that they're the 'most common state troops" rather than actually being good), so I figure that gives me an excellent melee infantry element, both to defend my line, and if necessary go digging for enemy troops if they decide to avoid my fire.

The Steam Tank is just far too cool to not put in, the original idea was to have 2, but I've been told that that's ridiculously overpowered, and I don't want to be overpowered >.> just aiming for a theme here!

Characters:
General of the Empire w/ Armor of Meteoric Iron, Pistol

Core:

25 Halberdiers w/ Full Command
5 Handgun Detatchment

5 Handgun Detatchment

5 Handgun Detatchment

5 Handgun Detatchment

5 Handgun Detatchment

10 Handgunners w/ Musician, Marksman, Marksman w/ Hochland Longrifle

Special:

Great Cannon

Great Cannon

5 Pisoliers w/ Outrider, Musician

5 Outriders w/ Outrider Champion, Musician, Champion w/ Grenade Launching Blunderbuss

Rare:

Steam Tank

Helstorm Rocket Battery

Total: 1999pts

So what do you think; is this a reasonably balanced Engineering army? Or am I still looking at a giant hunk of cheddar?

BigRob
20-09-2007, 07:25