PDA

View Full Version : Bindings of slaanesh vs. Quickening blood



Setomidor
31-08-2005, 10:27
Which of these will be in effect?

Quickening blood says always strikes first, bindings says always strike last (when you use it).

I suppose you could making it even messier by adding great weapon and charge to the fray, but neither of these should effect the outcome as rules for magical "items" precedes normal ones.

//Seto

Griefbringer
31-08-2005, 11:04
Quickening blood does not really say anything to me at the moment - which book is it from?

Yanos
31-08-2005, 11:14
It's a Daemonic gift from the Cult of Slaanesh list :).

Not sure how this one would play out :confused:. I guess it's not a combination they saw coming when they wrote the CoS list!

athamas
31-08-2005, 11:16
well the bindings state you always go last.. regardless of other factors...

so i would say you go last... in the first round where you chalanged someone


where is quickening blood from?

Yanos
31-08-2005, 11:27
I may have been wrong in my last post, maybe they did see it coming! The wording for Quickening Blood reads:

"The Anointed always strikes first in combat, even if charged or armed with a weapon that normally strikes last. If any of the Anointed's opponents also strike first, revert to normal Initiative."

It's the "armed with a weapon..." bit that gets me. Would the Bindings count (aren't they an Enchanted Item?)?

Setomidor
31-08-2005, 12:41
It will depend on if you read it "always" or "ALWAYS" aswell :P

Setomidor
31-08-2005, 13:03
Solved it. Apparently the wording of the bindings says it all when it excludes all other effects, including magic items :|

Frodo34x
31-08-2005, 19:31
Although techinically Quickening Blood isn't a magic Item per se...

Reinnon
31-08-2005, 19:59
i would just roll a dice to decide,

4+ you strike last, 1-3 you strike first, as it could be argued either way

athamas
01-09-2005, 07:43
the bindings state they take presidance over other items...

quickblood it just another 'strikes first' thing... as i read it he will always always always strike last in the first round of the challange, then he can use quickblood to strike first if he has it in subsequent rounds!

PelsBoble
01-09-2005, 10:40
The thing about quickblood is that it isnt a "item". Its a GIFT. A gift doesnt count as a magic item for purposes of spells like Vauls Unmaking etc. And it doesnt count as a magic item for BSB heralds in DL.

Therefore i would say that you always strike first :)

Setomidor
01-09-2005, 10:54
think it says "Magic items and other effects", gift should be effects... sadly :P

PelsBoble
01-09-2005, 11:45
ARg :)

Guess they saw this combo coming ;)