PDA

View Full Version : Total 40K Newbie guy asking question on tyranids.

neale
26-09-2007, 16:41
Hi and thanks in advance for your help. I have been doing fantasy for 17 years but have had absolutely no 40K experience. I have just recently required 80 genestealers and a broodlord model and i am asking can i use these to form a tyranid army or is this the equivilant of trying to use, like 4 rare choices in fantasy or 3 lords etc. I really know nothing about 40K so sorry for asking what may be a stupid question. Finally approx what kind of points would this equate to, just vaguely. Many thanks in advance.

LawrencePhillips
26-09-2007, 16:46
Nope. In 40K you need 1 HQ and 2 Troops

HQ: Broodlord and 5-11 stealers
Troops: is 6-12 (maybe more) stealers

So you have a legal starting army, but an army of just stealers will fail miserably, 2 full stregth units and the broodlord's unit is more than enough.

Un upgraded stealers are 16 points each, the broodlord is 70. You do the maths

so sell the rest of them on

Stingray_tm
26-09-2007, 16:49
Hi and thanks in advance for your help. I have been doing fantasy for 17 years but have had absolutely no 40K experience. I have just recently required 80 genestealers and a broodlord model and i am asking can i use these to form a tyranid army or is this the equivilant of trying to use, like 4 rare choices in fantasy or 3 lords etc. I really know nothing about 40K so sorry for asking what may be a stupid question. Finally approx what kind of points would this equate to, just vaguely. Many thanks in advance.

You catually can make a fully legal force with 1 HQ and 6 Troop selections with these models. Using the usual Genestealer build. this force would be about 1700 points.

There is no more room left. You can cram maybe two or three additional Stealers into that army, more is not possible.