PDA

View Full Version : Chaos Defiler in CC



Son_Of_A_Horus
02-10-2007, 20:17
How can a defiler have 2 close combat weapons when it only comes equipped with one on the sprue?

Culven
02-10-2007, 20:22
I thought the Defiler had two claws. :confused:

RampagingRavener
02-10-2007, 20:25
How can a defiler have 2 close combat weapons when it only comes equipped with one on the sprue?

The two main claws are it's 'standard' CC weapons. The flaily-thing can be used as another. If you want more, you have to look for conversions or just mailorder another pair of claws.

qwertywraith
02-10-2007, 20:30
How can a defiler have 2 close combat weapons when it only comes equipped with one on the sprue?

The same way chaos terminators can have lightning claws but there are not any on the sprue. You have to buy something else or do the conversion.

ChaosMaster
02-10-2007, 21:09
It has two claws so that's two CC weapons that automatically are included in the default profile for the Defiler. Then it comes with the flail-like bit that allows you to upgrade to three. With some converting you can take four now that the rules allow it. The rules for the Defiler's options have changed, but they fit what comes in the box pretty well. No reason to be alarmed or complain about the kit, it slides nicely into its new rules set with what's already on the sprue.

sephiroth87
02-10-2007, 21:13
It also has 4 stompy legs of death that can also be called close combat weapons.

Green Shoes
02-10-2007, 21:15
^ Ed Zachary.

AdmiralDick
02-10-2007, 21:17
The same way chaos terminators can have lightning claws but there are not any on the sprue. You have to buy something else or do the conversion.

actually its not quite like that, because a lightning claw is a finite thing. its either a power-fist with blades or its not a lightning claw. but close combat weapon (dreadnought or otherwise) is much less defined. so if you wanted to you could say that the 'feet' are the close combat weapons, and no one should really be able to argue with you. if anyone does i'd say, 'get a grip, after all, its only a model, its not a real defiler. it mearly represents an abstracted concept.'

however, i probably wouldn't say that, as taking a defiler with 4 CCW rather defeats the clunky and unsatifying point of a defiler.

Sovereign
02-10-2007, 21:52
Given that nobody requires extra arms on their Space Marine Heroes or Veterans to represent the extra attacks, the Defiler situation is actually very simple:
- if a Reaper Autocannon is present, it doesn't have the bonus attack
- if a twin Flamer is present, it doesn't have the other bonus attack

Just by looking at the model, you can quickly see whether it has extra attacks based on the number of weapons it carries.