PDA

View Full Version : Charging skirmishers engaged in combat



Sanjuro
04-09-2005, 08:59
The situation:

A unit of skirmshers (Dryads) are in combat with a single monster on a 40mm base (a Chaos spawn). The dryads rank up 3 wide since that is all that will fit.

Next turn, I wish to charge my ranked infantry into the same combat.

It is a frontal charge. I can see and have enough movement to contact one of the skirmishers sticking out on the side of the spawn.

My question here is: When I contact the skirmishers, do they extend from being 3 wide into as many models as will fit onto the front of my ranked unit (say Marauders)?

Or do they stay ranked up 3 wide, thereby being clipped by my ranked unit and probably lose combat something terrible?

My woodie opponent could not find anything in the rulebook about this yesterday.

Festus
04-09-2005, 09:25
Hi

The skirmisher's unit fix its width when it is charged.
It stays in this formation afterwards.

This is one of the reasons why they made beastherds always form up at least 4 models wide.

Greetings
Festus

Major Defense
04-09-2005, 12:52
I would add that if the dryads won a round of combat they could 'expand frontage' or even 'wrap around'.

Festus
04-09-2005, 16:44
Hi

This is correct. It can of course behave like any ranked unit once in combat.
Unfortunately, this includes having flanks and a rear to present to the enemy.

Greetings
Festus