PDA

View Full Version : Eldar Cheese

LightningGus
18-10-2007, 04:52
I've been wanting to play in local area tournaments, and i started practicing using my list with my buddies in friendly games. I figured that most tourney goers are competitive players, and i made my list with this in mind. Three falcons, harlies, fire dragons, the whole shebang.

After two games I realised how insanely cheesy my list was, in both games I decimated my opponent, I even made some sloppy mistakes but it really seemed like they couldn't have done anything (aside from getting insanely lucky) to beat me. I even told them that if they want to make up the cheesiest list they could and play me, it would be cool. They don't think they could make any sort of list to contend with the mech cheese. I've decided to stay away from such things in friendlies from now on, because if i keep playing this way I won't be able to get my friends in games anymore...

In a tournament it's a different story though, opponents have to play me. They don't have to like it though, and i don't think im charismatic enough to keep them from butchering my soft scores...
I was just wondering how do such lists go over in tourneys, and how do people react to such lists. I would sort of think that some people go to tourneys for the challenge of it, and would enjoy playing against such lists. I would like to make friends (obviously), but i don't want to make friends by letting them stomp on me.

If anyone who has used a very competitive army in a tournament and could give their account of how other players felt towards their army i would appreciate it.

zendral
18-10-2007, 05:00
Depending on how it is run...depends on how much we see of "cheese". Tournaments run where I play have composition as part of the score...and a decent part too. So not everyone goes nutz, as they know the risk on taking too much "cheese".

Trinary
18-10-2007, 05:02