PDA

View Full Version : Charging a fleeing unit?

andyfair
22-10-2007, 10:57
I am still quite new to the hobby and gradually picking things up.

This came about yesterday. My Spider Riders were fleeing and they were then charged from behind by another unit from the enemy (some pesky Dwarf Miners).

How do they react? Do they stand and fight or are they automatically wiped out because they are already fleeing?

Thanks

Atrahasis
22-10-2007, 11:50
A fleeing unit will always flee as a charge reaction. See the section titled "subsequent actions of fleeing troops".

Menset
22-10-2007, 12:43
You will have to flee directly away from the Chargers.

If this takes you into a enemy unit with US 5 or more, into impassable terrain or off the board the unit will then be Destroyed.

I had a lone Skeleton archer charge a unit of fleeing Brett Knights and they HAD to flee, they fled off the board and next turn the Skelly crumbled. My opponent wasn't impressed.

TheWarSmith
22-10-2007, 13:07
My friend did that to me with a warmachine crew whose cannon had been destroyed. I fled 3" w/ my cav and they caught me.

Granitearm
22-10-2007, 13:56
On a related note, how does it work when you pursue into a fleeing unit?
Do they roll to flee again? Or are they caught flat footed and run down where they stand?

Atrahasis
22-10-2007, 14:07
A fleeing unit can only flee as a charge reaction, and there is no apparent limit on the number of times a unit can flee in a phase or turn.

warlord hack'a
22-10-2007, 15:00
the only limit mentioned (that I can recall) is when unit A charges unit B, unit B flees, then unit A redirects into C, who also flees after which unit B is again the closest unit to A. Now A can declare again a charge against B and B in this case is not allowed to flee again..

TheDarkDaff
23-10-2007, 00:32
So you can't flee from the same unit twice in a turn but otherwise your models can run to their little plastic hearts content.

Crazy Harborc
23-10-2007, 01:09