PDA

View Full Version : Can a Treeman Lord Join A Unit?



Kolk
07-09-2005, 00:31
Can a Treeman Lord from the wood elves list join other (forest spirit) units? The book says he is a character. But does he also count as his own unit, and therefore he is not able to join other units?

Izram
07-09-2005, 00:43
all characters are 'units'.
Being a treeman does not set him apart, he works exactly like a normal large-target character.

GodHead
07-09-2005, 10:23
Except for their specific rules directly preventing that... Look under the rules for Forest Spirits on page 18 of the Wood Elf Armybook.

Aww heck, I'll save you the trouble.

"Non-Forest Spirits may not join a Forest Spirit unit and vice versa. Treemen Ancients may never join units."

But except for that they can.... :P

Tarax
07-09-2005, 13:20
No, a Treeman Ancient can NOT join units, as per the rule GodHead gave.

But he acts as a unit for all purposes, in case you're wandering.

Griefbringer
07-09-2005, 13:29
Would there be any benefit for having the Treeman character joining a unit anyway? I don't think he would be able to get any protection from missile fire.

T10
07-09-2005, 14:22
In general, a character allows the unit that he has joined to use his Leadership. Further, he can issue and accept challenges.

There may be further benefits for the unit, but not so many for the large character.

-T10

Griefbringer
07-09-2005, 14:40
In general, a character allows the unit that he has joined to use his Leadership.

Yep, but wouldn't the Treeman lord quite likely be a general anyway, at least in anything short of 3000 points?

T10
07-09-2005, 14:58
I don't think there is any question as to how the Treelord (?) would work if he was the army general.

What is the Treelord's Leadership, anyway? 9? 10? Unless his leadership is the highest of the characters he need not be the general.

-T10

Griefbringer
07-09-2005, 22:24
I presume that Sir Tree would be having Leadership 10, but then again I might be wrong - I am not so big on these new WE rules.

taer
08-09-2005, 05:56
I think he's a 9.

Guido le Wombat
08-09-2005, 15:44
He is indeed a 9, so a noble could be chosen as general if both were in the army.

Durham_red
11-09-2005, 17:14
Would there be any benefit for having the Treeman character joining a unit anyway? I don't think he would be able to get any protection from missile fire.

Unless he joined another treeman....

GodHead
11-09-2005, 23:06
or 5 treemen. Then he'd get a Look Out Sir! roll.

samw
11-09-2005, 23:23
Fair few points in one unit though... ;)

Griefbringer
11-09-2005, 23:29
or 5 treemen. Then he'd get a Look Out Sir! roll.

However, that is still not enough to get a rank bonus.

Let's make it a unit of 15 treemen, preferably with a standard bearer and musician! :angel:

Crazy Harborc
12-09-2005, 01:02
That base of it could certainly help to create a unit with more ranks, if a Treelord joined the unit. Unit strength would be added to by the treelord joining up.

Tarax
14-09-2005, 10:39
What part of 'Treeman Ancients may never join units' don't you understand?

Griefbringer
14-09-2005, 10:45
What part of 'Treeman Ancients may never join units' don't you understand?

In case you have not noticed, the actual rules discussion ended a long time ago, and we are now just engaged in an empty speculative thread about whether there would actually be any point in a treeman ancient joining a unit if it was actually allowed. ;)

Edit: I had somehow managed to mis-spell word "it" - corrected now. Silly me! :cries:

Tarax
14-09-2005, 11:02
Don't bother. How many points would you need to have a 'unit' of treemen?

Anyway, is that unit lined up formally or like skirmishers?

Please don't reply, I withdraw myself from this discussion (pointless, see ;) )