PDA

View Full Version : I new so can somone trop some tips by on how to start a imperial gaurd army

Vostroyan
25-10-2007, 23:58
Hi I am quite new to warhammer 40k and I need help on how to form a imperial guard/vostroyan army please drop some tips and dont tell me to get something just for the sake of you getting me to waste my money because i have good common sence

Cry of the Wind
26-10-2007, 00:03
Welcome to Warseer and to Warhammer 40 000! That said I think my first tip will be for you to check out the 40k tactics section of the site and read up on the Imperial Guard stuff there to get an idea of what you'll want to get.

As for getting a Vostoryan army up and running fast, grab a platoon box (25 guys), a Squad box of 10 guys with a Chimera to ride in as well as a Vostroyan Command box (5 guys with a Senior officer and Banner guy) and a IG codex. That will give you your basic HQ and 2 Troops to play a small game with and will make a decent core for your army.

Getz
26-10-2007, 00:19
The current codex allows for an impossibly diverse array of army archetypes, so I'd recommend playing your first couple of games without using doctrines until you've got a feel for how everything works.

That said, here's a simple truism that will hopefully help you out: Guard win through a combination of Manpower and Firepower...

Don't skimp on the basic troopers - It takes about two squads of Guard to achieve anything in a game, so make sure you enough. There isn't a lot that you can't kill in 40K simply by throwing large numbers of guardsmen at it. Secondly, cram as much firepower into your list as you possibly can - Although Guard have some handy counter assault units that can give you the edge if the enemy reaches your lines, it's the shooting that will do all the killing, so make sure you have redundant amounts of firepower...

Hicks
26-10-2007, 00:39
What I would have liked to hear when I started my own metal guard regiment: