PDA

View Full Version : Starting with Empire: 1000 pts

C-Coen
28-10-2007, 12:20
Heya guys!
I think I'll start an Empire army soon, but before I'll buy things I thought it might be good to see whether everything is useful.
(I have some bad experience on this, as I've bought some useless stuff before..)
Anyway, here's a quick list:
Heroes:
Warrior Priest and lvl 2 Wizard, with ?? pts of (magic) equipment.
Core units:
25 Swordsmen with musician, standard
20 Spearmen with musician, standard
10 Free Company
10 Crossbowmen or Handgunners (which do you prefer, and why?)
Special units:
5 Pistoliers, musician
Rare units:
Helstorm Rocket Battery
-------------------------
That's about 150 pts short, from whom I have to buy magic items and "something else".
What do you think of it so far? What do you recommend for other things?

For those who might wonder why some particular models are included in this army, all I say is fluff. Why? It's not simply and Empire army. It's an army from the Dragon Empire.. *Cathay* (Warrior Priest=Monk, for example..)
As far as I know, there are going to be about 2 Empire models included, both converted. Other models are Bretonnian M@A, Kislev guys and much more...

Kahadras
28-10-2007, 23:26
Looks fairly OK to me. Something a bit different anyway. I'd go for handgunners over crossbowmen as they'd probably fit the army theme better (plus they get armour piercing which is always nice).

With the 150 points left over I'd get another 5 Pistoliers (giving you two units) and I'd spend the last 50 points on magic items. Maybe get the Priest Armour of Meteoric Iron to give him a 1+ armour save and a great weapon. Get the Wizard a dipel magic scroll of that spell you really don't want to run the risk of him getting it off. That should fill out the left over points quite nicely IMHO.

Hope this helps.

Kahadras

MattKienbaum
29-10-2007, 17:11