PDA

View Full Version : termie lord with wings?



warflag
30-10-2007, 17:03
After ten days waiting I got my terminator-lord. Also picked up a box of possessed. Now those wings are damn cool. I just cannot resist, but then thereīs a problem. How would you justify wings on a terminator armoured model rules-wise? I only see the representation of the deepstrike rule.
Any thoughts?

leonmallett
30-10-2007, 17:06
Don't put them on?

warflag
30-10-2007, 17:11
Don't put them on?

Look at this: http://www.coolminiornot.com/index/whatm/GW/id/172302 and say that again;)

vipernyc
30-10-2007, 17:20
yeah, deep strike sounds like the way to go.

Ozendorph
30-10-2007, 17:23
My Chaos Lord wears Termie armor and has wings. They count for nothing, but he looks smooth. :)

ffoecaf
30-10-2007, 17:23
Why do you need a rules justification? It's Chaos.

Captain Micha
30-10-2007, 17:24
Deepstrike.

and as above

DarthSte
30-10-2007, 17:29
Either deepstrike or nothing - more likely nothing, just say the armour is too heavy for him to carry with his wings, but that he is super cool.

leonmallett
30-10-2007, 17:55
Look at this: http://www.coolminiornot.com/index/whatm/GW/id/172302 and say that again;)


Put them on, put them on!

They just don't count for anything....

Ninners
30-10-2007, 18:05
It's Chaos, you can count it as nothing. You can do that with any army, but for Chaos it works best :D

So yea, maybe just tell your opponent that they are there just for looks purposes and mean nothing rules wise.

Grazzy
30-10-2007, 18:13
Yeah, it will look cool. If anyone does complain you can just say it represents deep strike.

EarlGrey
30-10-2007, 18:31
You could have them broken and tattered too. That would look rather cool.

Clang
31-10-2007, 21:23
fluffwise, it's not a problem - as the codex says, the chaos gods are known for dispensing 'gifts' that may be useless or even fatal to the recipients.

ruleswise, just be clear to your opponent that the wings are decorative only and the Lord can't in fact fly, and you should have no problems.

boogle
31-10-2007, 22:38
Just as an Aside, that Slaanseh Lord looks super cool, if that was your intention then go for it, as for rules, DS will be the best way to represent it

Indrid Khold
31-10-2007, 22:51
Either deepstrike or nothing - more likely nothing, just say the armour is too heavy for him to carry with his wings, but that he is super cool.

Whoa, now, this is Chaos we're talking about here. You and your fancy "physics" has nothing to do with it!

Feor
31-10-2007, 23:07
Deep strike.

It's like Gargoyles, with the armour on he's too heavyto actually fly, but he can glide into battle from a low flying dropship.

Imperialis_Dominatus
01-11-2007, 00:15
Whoa, now, this is Chaos we're talking about here. You and your fancy "physics" has nothing to do with it!

Indeed. Dragon Wings shouldn't be able to carry a Daemon Prince (unless he's hollow or something), but they look bad ass. And that's what matters.

nightgant98c
01-11-2007, 01:13
I haven't had a chance to read the new codex, but if demonic mutation(or something similar) is still an option, then that would be good.

warflag
01-11-2007, 01:29
Now thatīs the whole point about the fuzz. All those shiny upgrades from the old dex are gone. With the old rules you could create your beast with a 2+/5+ save and the additional attack plus wings, which would pretty much represent what I wanted. (Maybe thatīs why they made a new one?)
However, those seem to have been the days...
Thanx for the feedback anyway.
**** that wysiwyg-thing, I go for what looks cool and thats it. Thinking of the standard equipment of csm in the new dex, they should wear real backpacks, as I will not put all that stuff on the model, nor put a third arm on them.

Cheers, Bart

mistformsquirrel
01-11-2007, 01:50
Why do you need a rules justification? It's Chaos.

*agree completely*

Preston
01-11-2007, 02:08
Or make a termie lord with wings, but model it out as a demon prince

DarthSte
01-11-2007, 11:48
Whoa, now, this is Chaos we're talking about here. You and your fancy "physics" has nothing to do with it!

Sorry yeah. I've been building a Witchhunters army lately, so I had forgotten all about the whole "Physics only apply to those that care" thing.

last akodo
01-11-2007, 12:10
Could go the other way and use it as a lord in powerarmour with wings...
Otherwise just ignore it ruels wise and be happy that your commander looks better than most others...

ctsteel
02-11-2007, 08:52
it could also represent an adamantium mantle type of enhancement, where the lord folds his chaos-gifted wings around himself to protect from that Instant Death hit, but in the process the wings are shredded and so it doesn't work again until they regenerate (ie next battle).