PDA

View Full Version : Attacking Grail Knights Question?



eagletsi1
30-10-2007, 17:42
Lets say a unit of spearmen attack Grail Knights in the front while in the lance formation. Now that would be 11 attacks (10 from unit +1 from Champion)

1) Do the spearmen have to direct their attacks against the Knights (Since they are all considered champions)?
2) If their attacks are not directed and they kill 5 (I know some amazing rolling) do the Grails lose five models or only 3?

Does anyone have a specific rule for this?

eagletsi1

Chiungalla
30-10-2007, 18:58
Grail Knights are not considered Champions, they can only make challenges as if they were champions.
That solves the problem I think.

eagletsi1
30-10-2007, 19:31
Are you sure? The guy I was playing was very certain they were Champions in all respects.

Do you have a page number or something?

theunwantedbeing
30-10-2007, 19:49
Page 50 of the bretonnian armybook.
The living saints rule.

Chiungalla
30-10-2007, 19:49
Look into the Bretonia armybook for the entry of grail knights.
And yes I'am sure, I just checked my german copy of the army book.

And:
Don't believe your opponent in rules questions, even more so, if he seems to be sure! Most guys around can't read rules at all.

T10
30-10-2007, 21:57
If they were all champions then the whole unit would get "look out, sir!" rolls against template weapons. That would be wierd. But they don't so it's not.

-T10

Belerophon709
30-10-2007, 22:14
If they were all champions then the whole unit would get "look out, sir!" rolls against template weapons. That would be wierd. But they don't so it's not.

-T10

If they were all champs, they wouldn't get 'Look out, Sir!' as champs are treated as characters when their unit is hit by ranged attacks (BRB p.81, bottom right paragraph), meaning there would be no rank and file in the unit to shove them aside. :D

Alathir
31-10-2007, 01:04
My mistake then!

I forgot that it was only in regards to accepting challenges they counted as champions.