PDA

View Full Version : Black orc warboss in war band?



metro_gnome
08-09-2005, 22:45
hiya...

i was just putting together a 500 point war band list...
and i was thinkin of puttin in a BO war boss to quell animosity particularly...

thing is i don't really know if i can... as he normally takes 2 hero choices...
but the border patrol rules just say you must have a hero...

i guess the question is... does that mean hero choice or hero?

rulz hurt grotz brayn...

Frodo34x
08-09-2005, 22:51
You cannot take him, as you are only allowed a single hero choice.

metro_gnome
09-09-2005, 01:12
well the rules don't actually say "Single Hero Choice"... they just say "Single Hero"... but i can take this ruling...

another question tho... can a Chaos army take 2 spawns as a single rare choice?

taer
09-09-2005, 04:04
In the army specific rules for warband games it says a chaos warband may only ever include a single spawn. I think there is something there about Black orc characters under the army specfic rules, but I forget 'em.

T10
09-09-2005, 07:40
The Black Orc Big Boss counts as two Hero choices. Under normal circumstances this means that he counts two characters for the purpose of army selection.*

Barring special provisions regarding Balck Orc characters in Warbands, it seems reasonable that this disqualifies him.

Digression:

There has been a debate as to wether characters that take multiple character-type slots (Lord, Hero) also count as multiple characters (Characters).

It has been argued that such characters only count as one Character, thus allowing the following setup for 2000 points.

Black Orc Warboss (1 Lord, 1 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Big Boss Battle Standard (1 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Big Boss (1 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Shaman (1 Hero, 1 Character)

Lords: 1 (0-1 allowed)
Heroes: 4 (0-4 allowed)
Characters: 4 (0-4 allowed)

It LOOKS legal, right? :rolleyes:

However, exchange the Black Orc Warboss for a Black Orc Big Boss (2 Hero). Now the whole thing breaks apart as introducing a technically less restricted character does not fit into the equation.

Black Orc Big Boss (2 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Big Boss Battle Standard (1 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Big Boss (1 Hero, 1 Character)
Orc Shaman (1 Hero, 1 Character)

Lords: 0 (0-1 allowed)
Heroes: 5 (0-4 allowed)
Characters: 4 (0-4 allowed)

However, counting each character-type slot expended as one character rectifies this apparent inconsistency.


-T10