PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Chaos Army?

Necros
03-11-2007, 03:01
So, tomorrow I will be picking up the new chaos army box set. So far, I haven't read the new codex (it's in the army box) but I know the jist of it. I've been playing for going on 14 years now and this will be my 7th army, though I've sold a few that I never completed so I guess you could say it's my 4th. One of those that I sold was a night lords army, about 4-5 years ago. So I'm hoping the new chaos stuff will be more fun.

This is primarily a modelling project. As such, I'm looking for some advice first off on some suggestions, in general, for a usual 2000 pt force. And fluff/color ideas too. I don't expect to get this army big enough for Apocalyse anytime soon, if ever.

I had always wanted to do an Iron Warriors army, but I like the spawns, etc, and since fluffwise they go for bionics over mutations generally, I don't think spawns and other gooey things would fit with the fluff.

I also thought about death guard, but I'm not a big fan of the icky green colors. And my group has a death guard player anyway, may as well not be a copy cat. We also have a 1000 sons player too.

Most of my armies are black, so this time I want to go with some lighter colors, but not pink slaanesh stuff.

So, my first thought is to go with something more "modern military" looking, not necessarly camo but with those greens or desert browns/tans.. however, to throw in the iron warriors angle, they'd be beat up. Armor dented, torn, bullet holes all over, a lot of rust and weathering. They would most likely be an undivided force.

Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone had any advice or ideas .. if you could start a brand new chaos army, what would you do? :)

JCOLL
03-11-2007, 03:23