View Full Version : High Elf Drain Magic and bound Items

11-11-2007, 01:30
Going through the new HE book. Drain Magic states that the power level of "all" spells go up by 3 for a turn, friend or foe. Does that mean that bound items or prayers/ogre magic, which are considered spells are effected? Example, Empire Priest spells are cast on a 7. Could be interesting........

11-11-2007, 10:38
What is the exact wording? If it says "Power level" as you say, then it has no effect on normal spells, as they have a "casting value" and a "casting result".

11-11-2007, 10:51
The wording is as follows:

"Drain Magic lasts until the start of the caster's next Magic phase.
The casting values of all spells are raised by 3, whether cast by friend or foe.
Further use of this spell by other wizards are cumulative, so a second casting of Drain Magic in the same Magic phase would raise casting values by 6, and so on"

It's quite clear that it does not affect bound items/spells, as they don't have a casting value, but a power level.
However, it does make Ogre magic harder to cast.

11-11-2007, 11:21

Curiously, it also makes Skaven, Chaos, Orc&Goblin, Empire, Bretonnia (etc. ) magic harder to cast. This surprising revelation has left me almost speechless.

Incidently, Drain Magic makes spells cast with Manfred von Carstein's Ebony Staff HARDER To dispel...


11-11-2007, 11:26
No need to be rude, I only pointed out Ogre magic because the OP asked specifically about it.

11-11-2007, 11:44
True - my bad.


11-11-2007, 13:07
Ok, casting level and power level are different. Makes sense. I really didn't think it would work, but hey.....

11-11-2007, 13:32
Incidently, Drain Magic makes spells cast with Manfred von Carstein's Ebony Staff HARDER To dispel...And more commonly, Aldred's Casket of Sorcery.

11-11-2007, 14:56
would it also make a remains in play spell like flames of the phoenix harder to dispel in subsequent rounds?

11-11-2007, 15:08
Depends what you cast it at.
If you cast it at say 10+ then cast drain magic it wouldnt go to needing a 13+ to dispel.
it would stay at 10+
But if you cast it on a 13+(basica casting value due to drain magic) then it would need a 13+ to dispel.

Or so I would assume.
(I guessed at those values by the way....)

11-11-2007, 15:22
It doesn't work vs. Tomb Kings.