PDA

View Full Version : High Elf Drain Magic and bound Items



Shank
11-11-2007, 01:30
Going through the new HE book. Drain Magic states that the power level of "all" spells go up by 3 for a turn, friend or foe. Does that mean that bound items or prayers/ogre magic, which are considered spells are effected? Example, Empire Priest spells are cast on a 7. Could be interesting........

Atrahasis
11-11-2007, 10:38
What is the exact wording? If it says "Power level" as you say, then it has no effect on normal spells, as they have a "casting value" and a "casting result".

Falkman
11-11-2007, 10:51
The wording is as follows:

"Drain Magic lasts until the start of the caster's next Magic phase.
The casting values of all spells are raised by 3, whether cast by friend or foe.
Further use of this spell by other wizards are cumulative, so a second casting of Drain Magic in the same Magic phase would raise casting values by 6, and so on"

It's quite clear that it does not affect bound items/spells, as they don't have a casting value, but a power level.
However, it does make Ogre magic harder to cast.

T10
11-11-2007, 11:21
Correct.

Curiously, it also makes Skaven, Chaos, Orc&Goblin, Empire, Bretonnia (etc. ) magic harder to cast. This surprising revelation has left me almost speechless.

Incidently, Drain Magic makes spells cast with Manfred von Carstein's Ebony Staff HARDER To dispel...

-T10

Falkman
11-11-2007, 11:26
No need to be rude, I only pointed out Ogre magic because the OP asked specifically about it.

T10
11-11-2007, 11:44
True - my bad.

-T10

Shank
11-11-2007, 13:07
Ok, casting level and power level are different. Makes sense. I really didn't think it would work, but hey.....

Atrahasis
11-11-2007, 13:32
Incidently, Drain Magic makes spells cast with Manfred von Carstein's Ebony Staff HARDER To dispel...And more commonly, Aldred's Casket of Sorcery.

marv335
11-11-2007, 14:56
would it also make a remains in play spell like flames of the phoenix harder to dispel in subsequent rounds?

theunwantedbeing
11-11-2007, 15:08
Depends what you cast it at.
If you cast it at say 10+ then cast drain magic it wouldnt go to needing a 13+ to dispel.
it would stay at 10+
But if you cast it on a 13+(basica casting value due to drain magic) then it would need a 13+ to dispel.

Or so I would assume.
(I guessed at those values by the way....)

eagletsi1
11-11-2007, 15:22
FYI,
It doesn't work vs. Tomb Kings.