PDA

View Full Version : book of hoeth: is it worth it?

brambleten
11-11-2007, 10:47
sorry if this has been posted before

on thursday, i will be taking the new HE archmage against some wood elves that seem to hammer me repetitively. i was wondering if i am doing the correct thing and going for the book of hoeth.
has it ever pulled its points back for you?
are there better alternatives in the new HE book?
please tell me, as i am new to HEs

Tutore
11-11-2007, 12:02
I think not. Although there will always be someone saying else, I NEVER saw a HE player win a battle with that book.

theunwantedbeing
11-11-2007, 12:12
I remember facing a guy with that book.
My exaulted daemon marched right over to him and hacked him into several thin slices.
In the same battle that same exaulted daemon did the same thing to teclis.

100pts is a lot of points.
You need to be going for all 4 spells and get 4 worthwhile spells to get much real worth out of him.
But thats 8-12 dice required on average, and he'll be generating only 6 dice on his own,
Banner of sorcerery ups that to 7-9 dice he gets to use.
So you wont get to throw 3 dice at every spell, perhaps only a single spell.

Assuming he throws 3 dice at 3 spells.
With 2 dice at a spell thats a 1/12 chance of getting irresistable force(assuming double 2 and double 1 are worthless to the cause as you wont successfully cast it on a 4 or a 2).
With 3 dice the chance of getting an irresistable force goes up, by half I think...something around that.
Again double 2 and 1 isnt particulalry helpful so the book is simply allowing double 3,4 and 5 to gain irresistable force as well.

Assuming you have the banner of sorcery somewhere in the list then he'll be getting 9 dice to throw at 3 spells which a fairly decent chance of irresistable force on each of those 3 spells.