PDA

View Full Version : 40k Veteran, Fantasy Beginner: Hordes of Chaos Advice

Lord Icklebum
11-09-2005, 21:14
Okay, so I've finally become a little bored with my 7000 or so points of Imperial Guard and am looking into playing Fantasy.

Since the Dwarves are getting revamped this December I've decided to go with them as my overall army, but in the meantime I want to get a nice 1500-2000 point Hordes of Chaos army, if for no other reason than they look cool.

So seeing as how I'm still fairly new at all of this I'd like to get your opinion on a good basic idea for an army.

I'm currently looking at an Undivided Exalted Champion, possibly mounted on a daemonic steed.

A Sorcerer or potentially a Slaanesi-marked Wizard (hey, if I'm going to play Fantasy I got to use at least some magic).

2 units of 16-20 Marauders, one armed with LA+Shield (because I like the way they look at they've got decent staying power for cheap) and another unit armed with flails (for counter-charges and general flanking with a punch).

At least 1 unit of Chaos warriors, possibly Chosen, in the 12-15 unit count vicinity. I'm going with HW+Shield just because it's so much more visually pleasing and generally more fluffy. They'd be on a large frontage and there to take or dish out a charge and then hold for the Marauders to support. These roles are reversible as well.

6 Chosen Chaos Knights. Undivided or possibly marked with Slaanesh if I chose to take the Wizard. If I mount the Champion he'd be riding with these guys, otherwise he'd probably be with the Warriors.

2 units of 5-10 Warhounds. Cheap screens that are there mainly to die and make sure my infantry gets to where it needs to be in relatively one piece. The biggest problem for me would be price and so, barring some amazing ebay auction, I won't be able to afford that many.

1 smallish unit of Furies, 10ish? They'll play the role that all furies play: To Die. And to take a few warmachine crews or wizards with them.