PDA

View Full Version : My first Fantasy list, FOR THE EMPIRE 2000pts

Warlord Kyle
19-11-2007, 02:45
After playing as tyranids, orks and dark eldar i thought that if i entered fantasy i would go with the good guys, the empire. Im really new to this and any sujjestions would help me, im currently borrowing all these models from a friend as i built up my own army. I want to see what everyone thinks.

155 General of the Empire with wyrmslayer sword, meteoric iron armor and white cloak.
180 Luthur Huss
87 Master Engineer with light armor and hochland rifle

19 Halberdiers full command 140
15 Spearmen full command 104
21 Handgunners 168
10 Huntsmen 100
20 Milita 100

1 great cannon 100
5 outriders with barding, sergant and musican and a grenade-launching blunderbuss. 139
1 helblaster 110
2x 8 knights full command one squad white wolves

The general who is yes, ON FOOT, goes with the halberdiers. The milita and handgunners are detacments for the spearmen and halberdiers. If anyone has any suggestions please tell me. I want to NOT have a gunline army.

RavenBloodwind
19-11-2007, 03:17
Some thoughts:

You're not in any real danger of 'gunlining' here. 42 potential shots (not counting artillery) is not over the top, particularly when we look at your ranked infantry and chunky knight units in support.

For your characters:
You're very light on magic defense with only the spare dispel die from Luthor. I certainly think the token 'scroll caddie' is a good investment in most circumstances.

I personally hate special characters although GW has certainly gone above-and-beyond to promote them in 7th ed for dwarf, empire and high elves so far. A plain-jane warrior priest would do you fine.

A battle standard bearer is vital to Empire infantry armies for survival.