PDA

View Full Version : Growing up, and somehow becoming a teacher...

Scanno
19-11-2007, 19:32
So, I graduated from college a week and a half ago, with 2.1 honours in mechanical and manufacturing engineering.
Out into the big bad world of unemployement I went last summer, hoping to land a dream job as a design engineer. I'm still waiting.
What I'm doing in the interem is a bit strange; I'm teaching the Irish language in my old secondary school. I used to work in summercamps that teach the language, but they're highly informal, and now suddenly I have a class sitting the 2nd most important set of exams in the Irish school system in June! Bit scary really.
I'm also subbing other classes; mainly tech drawing, metal and woodwork theory, and maths. All things I'm much more qualified for, yet none of them are the job I was hired for.
So, anyone else end up doing something they were completely unprepared for after college?

Oh yeah, I know that at least one of my students is on this forum...

harlequin21
19-11-2007, 19:47
Yeh, wonder who that could be :confused::angel::confused:

Scanno
19-11-2007, 19:55
Who knows L. from transition year, who knows?

harlequin21
19-11-2007, 19:59
I certainly dont but if anyone else here does, please let me know, this "L" intrigues me....;)

kortholaxthedamned
19-11-2007, 20:07
Can I just say that as soon as you know which student it is, it is compulsory to embarass him in class.

Dwarf Supreme
19-11-2007, 20:36