PDA

View Full Version : Switching Weapons

tanglethorn
20-11-2007, 01:31
I'm somewhat new to Fantasy having played it many years ago and then dropping out because there were no players in my area. I'm getting back into it and have almost 1500 points of Lizardmen and 500 points of Dwarves.

WHen a unit has Hand weapons and Great Weapons, is it legal to charge a unit with Great Weapons and then switch to Hand weapons on the next combat phase? For example, on my turn I charge with Great Weapons since I strike first. My opponent loses combat, but does not flee. Then on his turn he continues with the same combat and starts to roll to hit. However, before he starts to roll, can I declare my Troops drop their Great Weapons and switch to their Hand Weapons and Shields? Or am I stuck using the weapon I originally charged with until the combat is over?

I am having a hell of time trying to locate the specific rule.

Thanks.

guillaume
20-11-2007, 01:46
well, the thing is some units can take great weapons and hand weapons. You just pay for more.

However, the way it works is as follow:

You chagre with great weapons. You have your combat, then in that same combat phase (still your turn), your opponent hits back. You CANNOT change weapon then, you must keep with great weapon.

Now assuming that no one flees.

Next turn is your opponent turn. Let say your opponent hit first (better initiative, or won combat previously), you CAN change weapon then and go for hand weapons and shield. Then when your opponent is finished with his combat and you hit him back, you MUST use hand weapons and shield.

There is some flexibility, but not within turns, only between turns.

keep in mind that not everyone has access to great weapon. for the lizzies for example you could have your scar vet with GW and HW and shield, and switch when you need power or protection. you just cant use them together. Does that make sense?

xeolx
20-11-2007, 01:49