PDA

View Full Version : Making and army out of the army box...

The Song of Spears
20-11-2007, 15:10
High Elves - 2000 pts

Nobel mounted on dragon

Mage with level upgrade

16 archers
banner
musician
champion

16 spearmen
banner
musician
champion

10 Swordmasters of Hoeth
banner
musician
champion

8 Dragon Lords

1 White Lion Chariot

1 Bolt Thrower

So what do you think, a good solid core? It's not missing anything major is it? Think i could squeeze in another mage?

Thoras
20-11-2007, 15:59
I'm pretty new at this two, but a few points,

* Its hard to really know what you're putting together in the way of characters, can you be more specific on item choice, dragon choice etc.

* I presume you mean a prince mounted on a dragon because nobles don't have the option.

* How are you planning on ranking your troups? I'd say 16 archers is 6 too many (and don't bother with the command) and 16 spearmen is 4 too little. I'd go for 5-6 dragon princes, everyone i talk to says 10 is not worth it, and 8 seems an odd number.

brambleten
20-11-2007, 16:02
take the swordmasters up to 14 so you can fight in 2 ranks, and so that they actually make it to combat. drop the archers down to 10 and the spears up to 21 (3 ranks of 7).

The Song of Spears
20-11-2007, 16:18
Ok, well as for the prince on a dragon (sorry misquote there), i am going to be using the new dragon model fro HE.

As far as kit, well, i dunno i was undecided actually. Ideas?

Ok, so it seems more sword masters is needed, and more spearmen...

I can always drop some archers or dragon princes to make room for points...

Any things i am missing big time here? I see eagles commonly, are they so needed/useful?

Thoras
20-11-2007, 16:21
Any things i am missing big time here? I see eagles commonly, are they so needed/useful?

They're dirt cheap (50 points a piece) and i hear they're good for taking out warmachine crews or stopping units marching.

The Song of Spears
20-11-2007, 16:26