PDA

View Full Version : 1000pt tzeench demons

Big TM
27-11-2007, 17:36
Hi, This is my first attempt at a Demon list. I have never collected a fantasy army before, and am planing to start this one soon.

Exalted Demon
-MoT
-soul hunger
-master of sorcery
-power vortex

10 horrors

10 horrors

12 furies

5 screamers

Any comments welcome

Makarion
27-11-2007, 21:01
Ouch, ouch. Of the 4 units you have chosen, only the furies are quality. Horrors are amongst the weakest chaos units in existance, and screamers are too situational in my opinion.

If you *really* like horrors, make them a unit of 20 (and add a champion so they are 21 strong), but reserve that for 2,000+ point games. Otherwise, ditch them.

Furies are excellent, although 12 is on the top end of how may models are useful in a unit. Still, they are in general a keeper.

Screamers, well - there's better choices.

Bloodletters are good, although they need a screen of something cheap and disposable (perhaps warhounds?).

Plaguebearers are very durable in melee, but as with the bloodletters they need a screen or they'll suffer badly from shooting.

Flesh Hounds and Daemonettes are fragile but excellent war machine hunters. Take a unit of one or the other.

Make use of your special choices by taking a beast herd or perhaps a unit of marauders on foot for some cheap numbers. Reserve 1 special slot for chaos knights, a minimum size unit (4) is a good body guard for your general, if his or her move is good enough to keep up.

Last but not least, have fun! Figure out what flavour you like, and pick units to match, So, if it's Slaanesh, take those daemonettes, etc. Have fun!

PS. I am not a chaos players and will leave a discussion on characters to others. An Exalted Daemon is a good start, but I'd cut down on the magic toys myself, at least at 1,000 points.

Big TM
28-11-2007, 05:41