PDA

View Full Version : Swarm Rules



Sashu
28-11-2007, 04:58
I may be an idiot, but I was unable to find the swarm rules in the general warhammer fantasy rule book. Is there anyone that can point out the page number?

WusteGeist
28-11-2007, 05:10
Special rules under unbreakable.

Sashu
28-11-2007, 05:14
You are correct that that covers how they lose in combat. However the rules debate revolved around their movement rules, and whether they followed the normal rules for ranked units, or skirmishers, or if it varied by swarm.

Flypaper
28-11-2007, 05:31
It's handled specifically by the army list itself on a per-unit basis. So, f'rinstance, Skaven Rat Swarms have the skirmishers special rule, whereas Chaos Nurglings do not.

xmbk
29-11-2007, 20:09
Nurglings are skirmishers, it's just not listed in the unit roster section.

Flypaper
30-11-2007, 04:22
...Found it (p.37), thanks. :o

In that case, I can't think of any swarms offhand who don't skirmish - but if there were any, they simply wouldn't be listed as such in their army book.

Gorbad Ironclaw
30-11-2007, 05:54
Snotlings don't, or at least didn't used to.

Spirit Hosts are arguably also a swarm type unit, just didn't had the Swarm rule(because they way it worked in 6th) and they don't skirmish either.

T10
30-11-2007, 13:25
Snotling bases aren't Swarms. Well, they are swarms, but not Swarms.

-T10

cold0
30-11-2007, 13:31
Just a question: Can the swarms march?

Atrahasis
30-11-2007, 14:33
Why wouldn't they be able to?

cold0
30-11-2007, 14:46
Why wouldn't they be able to?

There isn't a reason indeed, but a friend of mine, playing with Lizardmen, says he isn't sure if his swarms can march or not. I have checked the core rules and the Lizardmen army book and found nothing. So, for me, the swarms can march.

Chaos Undecided
30-11-2007, 15:27
Anyone else got an image of ranks of snotlings marching along with their daggers/mushrooms/pointy sticks shouldered stuck in their heads now? :D

Flypaper
01-12-2007, 03:56
Just a question: Can the swarms march?
Yes, with the exception of Tomb Swarms, who can't because they're Undead.