PDA

View Full Version : Casualties and allocation of attacks



Noldo
28-11-2007, 13:37
If character is not alone capable of killing all models in base-to-base contact and the entire front rank of the enemies is not killed, how it is determied how many models may allocate attacks against the character?


Example:

EEEEEE
EEEEEE
EEEEEE
EEEEEE
WWWTWWW
WWWWWWW

E = empire Swordsman
W = White Lion
T = Teclis

If we exclude champions, on average 2 Swordsmen are going to be able to strike back. Teclis might be able to kill one with base-to-base contact with him, bu if he is actually positioned in the middle of the rank, how many of the surviving ordinary rank-and-file swordsmen can allocate attacks to him?

If HE player would like to minimize attacks targeted towards Teclis (wise thing to do withT2 and no Ward), how could he act? Is it possible to resolve attacks of troopers next to Teclis separatedly and allocate their kills against troops that are on base-to-base contact with way too fragile mage?

DeathlessDraich
28-11-2007, 14:16
1) If the champion is excluded (or not in btb contact with Teclis) and lets say 2 swordsmen are slain, then it is possible for 3 swordsmen to strike Teclis. The choice is up to the Empire player unless the condition below is met.

2) This condition is rarely used but it is in the rules - pg 32 and diag 33.2.
To minimise attacks against Teclis, the HE player *must stipulate* that he is *specifically* attacking (using the 2 HE models next to Teclis and Teclis himself) the enemy models in base contact with Teclis.

Fate
29-11-2007, 12:14
True, you can state who you are attacking in order to keep a character from being attacked, course you might need a lot of luck so as no attack will be made against him but you're always free to try to minimise.

the12thronin
30-11-2007, 14:42
1) If the champion is excluded (or not in btb contact with Teclis) and lets say 2 swordsmen are slain, then it is possible for 3 swordsmen to strike Teclis. The choice is up to the Empire player unless the condition below is met.

2) This condition is rarely used but it is in the rules - pg 32 and diag 33.2.
To minimise attacks against Teclis, the HE player *must stipulate* that he is *specifically* attacking (using the 2 HE models next to Teclis and Teclis himself) the enemy models in base contact with Teclis.

#2 isn't supported by either case. The only time you allocate like that is when you're fighting a character or a champion. The only way to guarantee Teclis doen't get hit is to beat down the entire front rank, assuming it is all normal rank and file.

Fate
01-12-2007, 12:27
The rule book says that any model can chose which model in base contact he is attacking.

the12thronin
01-12-2007, 14:19
33.2 shows that rank and file can choose to attack either the character or the unit, not that the character can attack that one specific R&F model. The caption shows that in the description.

Nowhere in the rules does it say that specific rank and file models are attacked because it is assumed that as they fall they step forward to fill the gaps (casualty removal). The only way to keep him safe is to beat the front rank down.

Festus
01-12-2007, 18:46
No, this is not correct: A character may specifically kill models in base to base contact.

Festus