PDA

View Full Version : How do you represent the Veil of Darkness or similar equipment???

Necronlord3
05-12-2007, 16:58
I'm curious how best to represent the Veil of Darkness as WYSIWYG equipment. How do you do it or how have you seen it done?

I've never ran a Necron army without the Veil and at first I simply represented it by painting the cloak on my Lord, black. Then I began to worry that if I attended an official tournament that that may not be good enough for WYSIWYG purposes. So I built a large base with the Monolith portal to represent a teleporting doorway opening up and my Veiling unit walking through it.

Is there another way or a better way?

Mercer
05-12-2007, 17:04
I don't think there is a actual offical way. You just declare to your oppoent at the start of a game which wargear your using. The only model I know in the Necron range which actually phyiscally displays wargear is the Lord with the ressurection orb.

I might be wrong on that one as I'm pretty new to warhammer myself and fielding Necrons.

Mercer

Sir_Turalyon
05-12-2007, 17:14
Why would anybody need to represent it? I think you overworry.

Captain Micha
05-12-2007, 17:41
Really, given that the lord's cloak is accumulated power anyway. I'd say it's perfectly represented by that. and so far as I know you do not have to wysiwyg a necron lord. Destroyer body and or orb aside.

Forlorn
05-12-2007, 18:05
Cotton! Lots and lots of black cotton! :)

I would agree with the previous suggestions and you simply announce what wargear you have and who has it.

de Selby
05-12-2007, 19:05
My necron lord has a sort of swirly cloak made out of modelling putty. I imagine he just twirls himself up in it and disappears. But I think you just have to tell whoever you play what the deal is, if you think the WYSIWYG is unclear.

tangerinealtoid
05-12-2007, 21:23