PDA

View Full Version : Lizardmen help

Tarkon
06-12-2007, 07:08
hello fellow wargamers,

recently, I'm thinking of rebuilding my first (warhammer)love, namely The Lizardmen. I once saw a picture of the Stegadon model and it made me start with the whole hobby, so I think it's a crime to not have a complete 7th edition army :)

But, around the time Ravaging Hordes (I'm sure everyone rembembers that), I started playing Warhammer 40k more and more. So it's been a long time since I played a decent Warhammer Fantasy game.

That's why I'm asking you guys for help. I'm thinking about a Saurus-heavy army with a Carnosaur and Cold Ones. Does anyone have some good ideas about what to take and not take?

Thanks a bunch
Tarkon

him_15
06-12-2007, 10:19
Good choice mate, my very first army was lizardmen too.
We have probably the most powerful and reliable basic infantry: saurus and skinks.
So go for the battalion set, you get all you need for only 50.

Flypaper
06-12-2007, 11:01
One of the good things about the Lizardmen list is that it's virtually impossible to handicap yourself too badly. So if you pick a bit of everything, you can't really go too wrong.

The only thing to remember is, if you go light on magic and/or shooting, you need to make sure your main battle line is fast-moving. A couple of Saurus units is fine, but make sure you've got enough M6+ guys to cross the board if you need to.

I'm thinking about a Saurus-heavy army with a Carnosaur and Cold Ones. Does anyone have some good ideas about what to take and not take?Okay, here's what I'd suggest (in addition to what you've listed):

- Two minimum-sized units of Javelin skinks, to act as a missile screen and cheaply absorb casualties.

- At least one unit that can mess with your opponent at long range. This means scouting Skinks, Chameleon Skinks or Terradon Riders.

- With so many high-toughness models, you don't really need too much magic defense. Still, Sacred Spawnings of Tepok are cheap and very useful.