PDA

View Full Version : Females and 40k

Hand of Dume
07-12-2007, 16:13
I've been playing role playing games for going on 20 yrs now and been to many game stores and one thing i've noticed is... where's the women? It seems that girls don't like to play 40k or any other role playing games. My wife even gives me crap (jokingly) about playing and says it's for "geeks". My response is "you married this geek and I was playing long before we met". Anyway, my question is, are there many females that play with your gaming group or at your store and why is there a lack of interest from them to play?:confused:

Bloodknight
07-12-2007, 16:20
My observation: Women are not into Wargames. A lot however do like RPGs, mostly the White Wolf games and almost anything which is Fantasy, but not D&D. Shadowrun also tends to have a lot of female players in my region.

SharpSilver
07-12-2007, 16:22
Leik, what is this 'female' you speak of?@@??@@!!!

crandall87
07-12-2007, 16:23
You don't see many guys shoe shopping though.

Anointed_By_Filth
07-12-2007, 16:25
In my group we have two females, and rumor has it we'll be getting a third and fourth (one of them is highly doubtful though). My girlfriend plays and another player's girlfriend plays. My girlfriend is more into 40k but she recently went in with me to get wood elves for fantasy. My friend's girlfriend is more into fantasy though.

Agrip. Varenus Denter
07-12-2007, 16:29
I've been playing RPGs since '79 - aside from a few girls in school, I didn't know any female gamers until I got out on my own and visiting gaming clubs and conventions - which is apparently where they have been all this time en masse - Shadowrun and the World of Darkness games being the top choices, it seems. There's still a lot more men who play RPGs and tabletop wargames, though - and I think that's because of the vast majority of them being very male-based.