PDA

View Full Version : Looking to Actually Start 40k

Bingo the Fun Monkey
07-12-2007, 21:53
Hello, I've been playing Fantasy for just over 10 years (since Thanksgiving), and while I had collected 2 platoons and 2 armored fist squads of Steel Legion, played ~3 games during 3rd ed, I don't know what army I truly wish to go for. While I was still rough with the rules when I played, I did have fun, because it didn't feel like I needed to "think" as much as in Fantasy. I think what I can get out of 40k is a nice, quick, bloodbath when I'm in the mood for it. Although I have Dwarfs, Skaven and Beastmen, I really only ever play my Orcs and Goblins now. I'm looking for starting an army that's a bit different in play style and philosophy than the O/G. I guess here's what I'm looking for:

1) an army that places some emphasis on movement and combined arms

2) i don't really care if the army is shooting reliant or combat reliant, a mix of both would be nice

3) something interesting to paint

4) an army list that has great potential for a huge variety of lists and viable play styles

Also, should I just wait for the new Orks codex to come out? I do love my greenskins, but I fear I will be sick of painting another 200+ green fellas.

MrPickles
07-12-2007, 21:58
You basically just defined an eldar army. Take a look:

http://us.games-workshop.com/games/40K/eldar/default.htm

You should buy a box of dire avengers. Now.

Bhorden
07-12-2007, 22:01
I think tau is what you are looking for you get a cool army which is fun to paint you get the kroot and the vespid for some cool beasts and a huge range whith a huge heap of hight teck tricks up their sleeves.

The_Patriot
07-12-2007, 22:01