PDA

View Full Version : HE against Bretonians

NecronBob
14-12-2007, 17:06
So, tomorrow I'm going to have my first game against Bretonians. In what will be my second game of WHFB ever. The Bret player has been talking a lot of trash and says that he has designed an army just to massacre high elves. Given that I'm a novice, I'm sure that he'll trounce me, but I'd like to give him a bit of surprise. Normally, I just build a balanced or themed list, but I don't like the trash talking or the list tinkering so I'm hoping to put up a fight. What units should a HE general take to the table if he wants to make a good showing against Brets?

I'll most likely be up against a bunch of knights, a leader on a pegasus, one unit of archers, more pegasus riders. He normally doesn't take much magic, but I'm betting he comes prepared for that from me. He won't have any infantry except for the reliquary.

I'm pondering Dragon Princes, Silver Helms, and chariots to stay mobile, with mage leaders to dominate magic. What do you think?

GKHERO
14-12-2007, 17:07
Seerstaff of Saphery + The Spirit of the Forge!

NecronBob
14-12-2007, 17:17
Seerstaff of Saphery + The Spirit of the Forge!

Ouch. I hadn't read that spell before. Excellent choice. In the list it goes!

Tarian
14-12-2007, 17:29
Swordmaster are very strong, but White Lions would probably be better. ASF S6 and Stubborn. Most Brett players I know hate stubborn.

Prince Sairion
14-12-2007, 17:37
Yep, magic, swordmasters and white lions. I'd also be tempted to take a chariot to charge his knights when they get in too close, bit of a waste of points but it may deter/funnel the approach of the knights to avoid it.

Also, pegasus knights, hows about a dragon mage. You say he will have archers (folariaths robe) and very little magic - also bret magic is basically defensive. So that could even things up a bit, just charge, with this one though don't be charged.