PDA

View Full Version : Dogs of War

Makaber
22-09-2005, 04:05
I've been playing Warhammer for about two years now, and I still only have one army, namely beastmen. I want to try something else, with a decent leadership, ranked units, and missile weapons. I like my armies a little off-center, so I'm currently looking at the Dogs of War. However, I have absolutely no idea how to deal with the units, since they are so drastically different from my usual lot. This is sort of the list I'm working on.

HQ:

Mercenary General w/ heavy armour, shield, pistol, Sword of Might, Talisman of Protection: 144 pts.

I've intended the general to go in a central mainstay unit like pikemen or dwarves, to bolster morale, and hopefully staying away from more well-off characters.

Paymaster w/ heavy armour, pistol, enchanted shield: 76 pts.

Goes in a defensive unit, stays the heck alive aided by his 2+ armour save.

Mercenary Captain w/ heavy armour, pistol, lance, shield, on pegasus: 117 pts.

Takes out warmachines and is a nuisance.

Wizard w/ two dispell scrolls, level 2: 145 pts.

Normally I loathe scroll caddies, but I feel I can take one here with a clear concience. ;)

Core:

15 Duellists w/ pistols: 135 pts.

I'm sure 15 is excessive, but I've been on the recieving end of duellists before, and they are absolutely lethal. If charged, they can all stand and shoot since they're skirmishers, and they still get their pistol shots in the following melee. However, I'm also ready to lower the size a little if told 15 is ridicilous.

30 Pikemen w/ heavy armour, full command: 360 pts.

I figured 25 is the norm for spears, so I went with 30 pikemen on a hunch. Is a 6x5 unit okay? They can probably be tweaked down to 29 to accomodate a character and still look neat.

10 Crossbowmen: 80 pts.

10 Crossbowmen: 80 pts.