PDA

View Full Version : How many regeneration rolls do you take?



Sinew
22-09-2005, 11:46
Say a character with regen suffers 5 wounds but only has 2 on his profile, how many rolls for regen must he make, 2 or 5?

Sub-question: presumably if a character with regen is 'killed' by an attack at the beginning of the shooting/combat/magic phase no further attacks may be allocated to him (because he's 'dead') correct? How does this work with challenges/overkill?

Atrahasis
22-09-2005, 11:56
The character would take 2 rolls.

Once "dead", ie for the rest of the combat between suffering the last wound and the end of the phase when he regenerates, he cannot be attacked.

Except in a challenge where all attacks are worked out. The character still only takes 2 regen rolls, and if he fails both, then all wounds inflicted (including/capped by overkill) count for CR. If he passes either or both, then only 0 or 1 wounds count to CR, depending on the number of rolls failed.

Avian
22-09-2005, 12:07
Which doesn't really make a lot of sense, but I haven't seen anyone propose a better alternative that doesn't radically alter the way Regeneration works.

T10
22-09-2005, 14:34
Before we heard about GW's ruling, this is how we handled it:

Determine the number of wounds caused on each target.
Roll to regenerate each wound.
Excess wounds after regeneration ar discounted.
Consolidate wounds.

Assuming a unit of trolls is hit by a cannonball.
Troll 1 suffers 2 wounds.
Troll 2 suffers 4 wounds.
Troll 3 suffers 6 wounds.

Lets say the following regeneration occurs:
Troll 1 regenerates 1 wound.
Troll 2 regenerates 4 wounds.
Troll 3 regenerates 1 wound.

Troll 1 contributes 1 lost wound.
Troll 2 contributes 0 lost wounds.
Troll 3 contributes 3 lost wounds - the Troll has only 3 wounds n the profile so excess 2 wounds it failed to regenerate are discounted.

Thus the unit suffers 4 wounds. One model dies and 1 wound is carried over.

It seemed reasonable that a creature that was brutalised for 6 wound should have a pretty slim chance of shaking it off.

-T10

NakedFisherman
22-09-2005, 14:53
Individual trolls don't Regenerate wounds.

Besides, GW has a clear FAQ on this from the Annuals/Chronicles. It's available on the UK website.

Tarax
27-09-2005, 08:35
Besides, GW has a clear FAQ on this from the Annuals/Chronicles. It's available on the UK website.

Could you profide a link.

BTW I completely agree with T10 on this one. The character has to make 5 regen rolls, just like he would take 5 armour save rolls.

Though my problem would be when you take the regen save, before or after multiplying wounds, as for the cannonball.

Festus
27-09-2005, 09:08
Hi

Here you go:

GW WH FAQ (http://uk.games-workshop.com/chronicles/faq/assets/warhammer-faq.pdf)

And T10's former way is wrong AFA the rules go, but he knows it :)

Greetings
Festus