PDA

View Full Version : VC going up against HE

PeG
10-01-2008, 18:23
I am a newbie VC player and I am going up against a high elf army next week. I knows that my opponent likes to play a dragon with a mounted melee character, usually few mages and then white lions, archers etc. I can see this causing some major problems for VC since he is a lot faster then most of my units and I am not sure about how to handle the combination of his magic (drain magic, +1 to dispel, some scrolls) and the dragon.

I am thinking about going really magic heavy to be able to prevent drain magic from happening as well as trying to magic his dragon to death but would prefer a more flexible solution that would allow me to put points into something else then core and magic. All suggestions are appreciated.

mightygnoblar
10-01-2008, 21:32
i would start by feilding a large core of zombies, against HE they tend to be much more points effecient than skeles as they main draw back (braindead) is prctically lost by the fact that HE always strike first anyway.
there are a number of good combinations that you could use, there is magic heavy as you suggested, however its best not to really on the magic phase to much, id probably settle for around 6 levels of magic
i wouls also suggest trying a couple of etherial units, as nowadays most high elf units really on their kills and usually (with the exception of spearman) do not have too much static combat res
overall i would definety rule out winning him by killing him in close combat (therefore id ignore units such as grave guard and ghouls) and go for a war of attrition, feeding him lots of zombies while bringing up more with your magic, your wait of numbers will eventually take its toll and all it takes is for him to have one bad round amd you've got him