PDA

View Full Version : Gk alternate colours?

The Guy
12-01-2008, 22:41
Do all GKs have the same colour armour? Do some have different? If so then why? Is it a sign of heraldry? Would I be able to [fluff wise] have different coloured GKs in the same army?

TwoByFour
12-01-2008, 22:54
As far as I know, all Grey Knights have silver armour. I'm no expert on them, but that is my impression.
You could, however, use colour on their sholderpads, as part of their heraldry. I think veteran sergeants get heraldry, and maybe the squad gets to carry a less ornate version of their sergeants heraldry? It could tie the individual squad together quite nicely, I think. Maybe a GK expert could enlighten us further?

TwoByFour.

TheLionReturns
12-01-2008, 23:15
They are your minis, I say paint them however you like. I know of no fluff that would point to any alternative colour scheme though.

Stella Cadente
12-01-2008, 23:31
your minis, your painting rules, different colors in the same force might seem a little weird though

Quentin
13-01-2008, 00:51
Technically there is a Grey Knight in the back of the Daemonhunters codex whose armour is an encrusted blood red colour.

As far as Heraldry goes, each Grey Knight Terminator has his own personal heraldry emblazoned on his shield.

I've seen a squad of particularly neat GK termies who are in fact former Loyalist members of the Traitor Legions. Not Chaos Marines turned good, of course, they where amongst those on the Eisenstien.

I've seen a few well done GK's in other colour schemes than silver/gold metal.

Lord Cook
13-01-2008, 01:24
There is a small piece of fluff in one of the White Dwarfs (from a couple of years back) about the Grey Knight attack on the Relictors Space Marine Fortress Monastery. IIRC the GK terminators in it have a sort of dark metallic blue armour.
Unfortunately I don't have the copy to hand.

Johnnyfrej
13-01-2008, 04:25