PDA

View Full Version : Goblin Magic banners...

bigbear bailey
31-01-2008, 17:24
Have any of you guys ever used the Spider banner or the Rowdeys rickety banner and if so what luck have you had with them? I was thinking the spider banner would be great for a big unit of gobos with spears but don’t you think that he is very easy to kill with how he is decked out? A wolf takes up to many swings compared to more gobos… Am I right?

Urgat
31-01-2008, 17:36
I only take the spider banner when I know I'll have to face a large target (dragons, giants, etc), and I slap it in a large unit of gobs with bows.
Big fun.

SrLobo
31-01-2008, 17:45
I am new to O&G but I don't think the spider banner is worth in an unit with spears (if I am not mistaken, the second rank will only attack if the unit hasn't moved -> you have been charged, and it is not difficult to lose and flee... bye banner). If I had to, I would use it in a big unit with bows instead (they are not very good at shooting, but at least you don't need to be in combat to have 10 posioned attacks), but, definitely, I prefer Rowdy Grott etc.. banner

Dranthar
01-02-2008, 05:30
I've always thought that it was a real pitty that all-goblin armies could feasibly take only one banner, and it tended to be on an easy to kill hero with average toughness and little armour. :rolleyes:

IF I take a banner it tends to be the "DONT PANIC!" banner (I forget the name :D). I also really like the idea of a spider banner, purely to stick in a unit of archers vs. large targets, although I've never tried it myself.

The rest of them are okay I guess, but when it comes down to it, the opportunuity to reroll panic tests in a goblin army is hard to pass up.

SilentTempest
01-02-2008, 07:01