PDA

View Full Version : Blasted Standard



Yehoshua
06-02-2008, 19:06
Yellow Fire is normally a RiP spell that ends if the caster casts a new spell. However, the Blasted Standard (Tzeentch only) casts Yellow Fire as a bound spell.
An aspiring champion carrying the Blasted Standard is by definition Tzeentch marked and thus a wizard.

Will a Yellow Fire cast by/from the Blasted Standard end as soon as the aspiring champion attempts to cast a spell?

Please justify your answer; I'm interested in this academically.

Preliminary thoughts: possessing a bound spell item does not make a character a wizard, so presumably the item is doing the casting. If the aspiring champion is therefore not casting the spell, can he still end it at will?

Gazak Blacktoof
06-02-2008, 20:48
The item provides all the power required to cast the spell, etc, etc.

The character does not cast the spell, the item does.

I suppose that if an item contained two spells and one of them was remains in play it would end if you cast the other spell, but there aren't any items like that.

sulla
07-02-2008, 06:50
Talk it through with your opponents or dice for it before the game.

At this moment, the argument has devolved to a debate on whether the sorceror can maintain it because 'the item provides the power' or cannot maintain it because ' the caster can't maintain the concentration to maintain the spell while casting another'...

T10
07-02-2008, 08:01
That pretty much sums up the argument, yes.

-T10