PDA

View Full Version : Enemy in the way Errata and FAQ.



juample
07-02-2008, 13:51
Reding the GW FAQ and ERRATA (http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/assets/wh/warhammer7.pdf) i am not sure to interpret well this rule.

1)If i declare a charge against a enemy unit, and then i realize i couldnt reach this one becose another enemy unit (not friendly unit or impassable terrain, i am almost sure this case is treated as failed charge) is in the way, and i cant avoid it by the single one wheel allowed, can i declare it as target of a new charge?

2) Is indisposable the original target delare "flee" as charge reaction to use the "enemy in the way rule?,

T10
07-02-2008, 14:06
The Enemy in the Way rules mentions the target fleeing as one thing that may cause the chargers to be presented with a new target, but they do not specify this as an absolute criteria.

In my opinion, however, it should be read as such. If the target unit decides to hold then the chargers must make every effort to reach it or suffer a failed charge.

-T10

juample
07-02-2008, 14:31
http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/assets/wh/warhammer7.pdf

In the first page 23 errata it states to delete "after a unit has fleed for charge".

Why? Does it means that you doesnt need the enemy declare "flee" as charge reaction to declare a new charge?

theunwantedbeing
07-02-2008, 14:35
To be able to declare an enemy in the way charge 2 criteria need to be met.

1. You need to fail to get into combat with the enemy you are currently charging
2. There needs to be an enemy unit in the way

juample
07-02-2008, 15:35
To be able to declare an enemy in the way charge 2 criteria need to be met.

1. You need to fail to get into combat with the enemy you are currently charging


1. I am not sure, but i think in page 23 of the RB states you can declare a new charge also after you reach and wipe out your original target.

theunwantedbeing
07-02-2008, 15:49
Thats covered in "not getting into combat with the enemy you are charging"
Seeing as running them down doesnt put you in combat with them.

EvC
07-02-2008, 16:14
"enemy in the way"... it truly is as simple as it sounds, yet thousands are confused. If there is an enemy in the way of a charge, you can charge them instead.

juample
07-02-2008, 17:45
Maybe the problem is state what is a way and waht is exactly your way:

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8784/rute5ep7.gif

On wich unit can you declare a new charge (red,pink,purple) ?

Festus
07-02-2008, 18:10
Hi

"enemy in the way"... it truly is as simple as it sounds, yet thousands are confused. If there is an enemy in the way of a charge, you can charge them instead.
QFT

That is all I think there is to it.
Don't make it more complicated than it has to be...

Festus

juample
07-02-2008, 18:29
QFT

QFT? What is QFT??


EDIT: OOOps the glosary asked alredy. but what do you say about this situation:
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8784/rute5ep7.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Nurgling Chieftain
07-02-2008, 19:12
Cool diagram, but what's the question?

Festus
07-02-2008, 19:47
Agreed - What is the question?

If the Lance has enough Movement to reach all units, it can pick one it likes, and destroy the skirmishers in the process, as they couldn't flee far enough.

Where is the problem, again?

Festus

juample
07-02-2008, 20:13
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8784/rute5ep7.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Yellow unit flees.

On wich unit can you declare a new charge (enemy in the way) (red,pink or purple) in other words, what is the way Knights have to follow?

Festus
07-02-2008, 20:18
On any...

Festus

juample
08-02-2008, 17:58
And if i declare a new charge in purple one, and this one flee too, can i declare a new charge to the red unit?

ZiggyQubert
08-02-2008, 21:20
Not entierly true, you can only EITW the red block, bare in mind that you must move "streight after the intented target" (see enimy in the way pg 23 small rule book) which in this case is twords the skirmisher that was closest and in line of site when you declared the charge so only units that you would contact IN THAT LINE can be charged via EITW, although bare in mind once it is determined that you can EITW them you now count as having declared a charge on the new unit (so you maximixe and so forth)

juample
09-02-2008, 05:42
Reding the GW FAQ and ERRATA (http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/assets/wh/warhammer7.pdf) i am not sure to interpret well this rule.

1)If i declare a charge against a enemy unit, and then i realize i couldnt reach this one becose another enemy unit (not friendly unit or impassable terrain, i am almost sure this case is treated as failed charge) is in the way, and i cant avoid it by the single one wheel allowed, can i declare it as target of a new charge?

2) Is indisposable the original target delare "flee" as charge reaction to use the "enemy in the way rule?,

By the way i think:

1)Yes.
2)No.


And if i declare a new charge in purple one, and this one flee too, can i declare a new charge to the red unit?

No

AM i in a error?

lparigi34
09-02-2008, 13:13
@Juample

1) Yes, I agree

2) Not to declare a flee, but to flee in soma way (i.e. Terror), else you must try to reach the unit against you declared a charge or fail it.

Finally, IMO you can never declare a EITW against the purple Unit as you'll violate one of the premises for a charge movement (you can only pivot once).

Jonke
10-02-2008, 00:52
Since the yellow unit is skirmishing you may 'tactically wheel' when charging it, thus making it possible to eitw any of the other three units.

If the knights eitw the purple unit and it chooses flee, the knights must try to complete their charge towards the purple unit after it has fled. If the knights when making this move comes into contact with an enemy unit they may eitw it.