PDA

View Full Version : I don't get rocket battery popularity...

klstrider28
08-02-2008, 01:04
hey warseer
I admit that I am new to empire and I see many players using rocket batteries but I am confused as to why. I understand that the weapon is strong but it seems so unpredictable to be reliable. I get that hellblasters will inevitably have fewer shots than desired, but with the amount of scatters involved in rocket batteries I fail to see a major upside with them.

kroq'gar
08-02-2008, 01:25
Because they have the potential for a direct hit, that i've once killed 14 orcs with (one barrage). Their longer range and scatter force the opponent into moving and spreading out, after all, a scatter can move onto a nearby enemey unit, so its not so bad against packed units.

Guy Fawkes
08-02-2008, 01:35
I find it is a great area-denail tactic. As previously mentioned, few enemies (except those that can't avoid it, like Skaven) will willing cluster up and give you a hit on something when one of those things is on the field. They cost about as much as a Cannon, and unless your opponent takes lots of Monsters or you get those lucky sniper shots, I think a Helstorm will more likely make more points. Nothing can really shrug off its hits and its got a long threat range too.