PDA

View Full Version : Wood Elves Vs. Bretonia: TIPS PLEASE!

Alex Under
12-02-2008, 01:00
Hello and thanks in advance for your help,

I'm playing a 1.000 point game vs. Bretonians with my Wood Elves. I've been painting them for a few months but still haven't played with them, so it is going to be my first battle with them

What should I do? I am pretty sure my opponent will take his 3 pegasus knights and at least 10 Peasents with bows, the rest of the army he will fill up with knights, as obvious.

I have the following miniatures to choose my army list from: loads of archers and scouts, 10 dryads, 10 war dancers, 3 hawk riders, 8 glade guard, treeman, spellsingers, branchwraiths and nobles. More than the exact army list, I would like to know any specific tactics I should bear in mind.

Cheers!

xragg
12-02-2008, 04:20
Brets can be tough, so much armor, and so few ways for WE to get around it. I found to best way to beat Brets is to disrupt their advance across the field. I have gotten very good at it with my skaven, havent really got to play Brets with my WE yet.

Basically, make it so that they cant hit you with everything at once, and if at all possible charge them to avoid those lances. 1000 points is really light and too much into characters and magic items will severely weaken you. I wrote a list that focuses on shotting as they come across, while using treesinging/skirmishers to disrupt a unified attack. I wouldnt expect Brets to have more then 1 dispel caddy, if any, for a 1k game. If so, they are really weakening their offense. So I would expect that 1 of the 2 treesingings should get off each turn, enough to make the woods an annoyance.