PDA

View Full Version : Problem regarding magic resistance



KnightGriffon05
16-02-2008, 11:33
Imagine this scenario:

I have a general in a unit of knights.

General has Sigil of Sigmar (Magic Res 1)
Knights have Standard of Arcane Warding (Magic Res 2)

If this unit is shot at with a magical missile, how are the dispel dice manipulated? Can i have +3 dispel dice because i combine the standard with the sigil?

xragg
16-02-2008, 11:46
pg95 "Magic resistance is never cumulative."

You use the best, either the unit's MR or the character's MR. So in your case the units MR2.

KnightGriffon05
17-02-2008, 10:11
ok. but let's say someone shoots a magic missile at the general alone (i dont know if there are any that can pick out characters in a unit - been a long time since i played). Does he use the MR2 or MR1?

Festus
17-02-2008, 11:33
He uses MR2 - a character who has joined a unit is part of the unit in all respects. So he uses the unit's MR.

Festus

KnightGriffon05
18-02-2008, 20:53
so basically the sigil of sigmar is useless when the general is in the unit...

theunwantedbeing
18-02-2008, 21:09
Yep.
Although if you really want to whinge at useless items then take a look at the DE magic items (not the cult of slaanesh of albion items, just the ones in the armybook)...you'll be happy you get enough magic resistance items to make one of them usless.

Grimgormx
19-02-2008, 02:42
well, see the rules for the fay enchantress!!! jejeje as far as I know you can have diferent sources of magic resistance, as you can use only 1 per turn, having 2 will let you use them if the unit is the target of 2 spells.

in the case of the Fay enchantress you will use first her MR of 3 and after that if she is the target of a new spell then you can use silvarion MR2, but you can never use all the MR (total 5 for this model) at the same time

Grimgormx
19-02-2008, 02:44
So the sigil isnt completely useless

Gorbad Ironclaw
19-02-2008, 04:31
well, see the rules for the fay enchantress!!! jejeje as far as I know you can have diferent sources of magic resistance, as you can use only 1 per turn, having 2 will let you use them if the unit is the target of 2 spells.



Complete and utter nonsense. There is no limit to how many times you can use Magic Reistance nor is there anything in the rules to suggest that.

Khorneflakes
19-02-2008, 04:44
so if i had the fey enchantress and she was hit 3 times by magic misslies she would roll mr3 for each one? that seems a little too powerful.

Braad
19-02-2008, 08:21
so if i had the fey enchantress and she was hit 3 times by magic misslies she would roll mr3 for each one? that seems a little too powerful.

Just cast at something else, then?

Magic resistance is only powerfull on the unit that has it, but if you just don't cast at that unit...

Khorneflakes
21-02-2008, 07:28
so are you saying thats how it works, 3mr dice for each and every spell cast at her during the same turn

Oberon
21-02-2008, 07:32
Yep, and every turn too (unless the MR3 is some kind of once in a game kind of thing).

Masque
21-02-2008, 07:34
so are you saying thats how it works, 3mr dice for each and every spell cast at her during the same turn

Yup, that's what they are saying. And it's even true. :p

Khorneflakes
21-02-2008, 07:49
man i thought it was like dispel dice one shot per magic phase. makes my dwarves abit better now (4 dispel dice and 3 oath stones)