PDA

View Full Version : Empire vs High Elves - Testing

omricon
01-03-2008, 12:47
Hi,
I am quite new to Fantasy, having been a 40k player for some time, although I am familiar with the rules, just not the strategies. I have been asked by a friend to create an Empire army (2k), to help test my friend's High Elf army, and so it needs to be competitive but also not extreme in any way, unless that is normal for Empire (eg all artillery or whatever). This will help him refine his army against al comers.

Would any of you be able to help me come up with some ideas for an Empire army that I could construct? He has a whole range of models for me to use so that shouldnt be a problem.

Thanks

Be Afraid
01-03-2008, 22:52
lv 4, 3x lv2, 4 cannons, 2 steam tanks and a million, billion crossbowmen :p kidding

i think the most balanced empire army wold have too include 1 of each unit, they are all cool in their own way

andy10k
01-03-2008, 23:58
A Steam Tank is a brilliant choice for any empire army :D

Also Kurt Helborg *cough* lol, im a huge fan of him :P

But yeah, knights/xbowmen/handgunners (whichever you prefer) swordsmen, mages, cannons, steam tank etc. Are all good choices, i dont think there is 1 rubbish unit in the empire book :D

Sir Spoon 88
02-03-2008, 01:23
Against HE, you may have trouble finding range on handgunners and hellblaster early, and the S4 of xbowmen will prolly neg their armour enough to kill them in droves, as long as they dont have mass dknights and silver helms. Ive found, laurels of victory helps against 3 ranks of spearmen striking first and also xbowmen and maybe a cannon and a mortar.

HE Biggest threats:

Repeater Bolt Thrower: capable of eating your heavy armoured troops quickly and cut chunx in your block troops.

Saphery: 2D6 S4 hits hurts, espec if they casting it like x2 a turn. Also that 5+ ward save helps them survive nasty high Strength charges.