PDA

View Full Version : How to use GyroCopter

ozzymandeus
10-03-2008, 02:11
Heya all

I am a relatively new fantasy player, and I switched from OnG to Dwarfs.

Anywayz I got me gyrocopter to add to my new list, and I have never used it before.

I am just wondering on the tactics on how to effectively march block and all that other fun stuff with a copter, and just how to avoid losing him and avoiding combat.

Another thing is, the dwarf army book doesn't have a movement stat for the thing???

Thx all

luckysevens
10-03-2008, 10:26
Hi,

The gyrocopter doesn't have a movement value because it's a helicopter - it flies (so 20" max move), and if it can't fly for any reason, it can't move at all.

As to how to use it, that depends really on your opponent and their army, but generally:

1. March blocking - always useful, and annoying for your opponent, but best when you have a specific objective in mind e.g. holding up a particularly nasty enemy unit, or ensuring that an enemy deployed out on a flank struggles to get into combat. To do it, simply plop the gyro within 8" of an enemy unit, ideally more than one. If you can get the gyro in amongst the enemy army but oustide of charge arcs, great, but don't worry too much if you can be charged - so long as you don't go too close to the enemy you'll have a good chance of escaping when you flee, with a high chance of rallying and being able to move again due to the gyro's special rules. The unit that tried to charge will fail, and move half speed anyway, so it did it's job. If you are likely to be fleeing a charge, be a bit careful how you line up the gyro, to avoid fleeing into woods/impassable terrain/enemy units etc.