PDA

View Full Version : Old Gamer Jumpin' Back Into The Frey

oni
11-03-2008, 00:45
hello, my name is chris. i used to play 40k back in the day, 2nd edition to be exact. i started playing right when 2nd was released and played until 3rd was released. i didn't quit because of the rules change tho. everyone i gamed with didn't like the thought of a rules change and quit so i was left with no one to game with and ended up selling off all my stuff. when i first started i built up a decent sized ultramarines force which i later sold and amassed a very large and very strong eldar force, biel-tan was the craft world.

anyway, after years of having the itch to game again i've finally decided to jump back into the frey. i'm curious what 40k is like these days compared to 2nd edition and if anyone has any advice for someone getting back into the game?

... i know 5th edition is making its debuted sometime this year, so i know to wait for that and the new codices.

CommisarMolotov
11-03-2008, 00:59
You're gonna find it WAY different than 2nd edition. Overwatch, strategy cards, vehicle cards and grenades have all gone the way of the dinosaur! It's more unit-based than character-based, combat has gotten a lot simpler, and weapon armor modifiers have been replaced by a simpler "AP" stat that has nevertheless encouraged the spamming of certain weapons that shall not be mentioned...

It certainly plays faster than 2nd. Whether or not it's "better" is a judgment call.

oni
11-03-2008, 01:10
i can't say that i'll miss overwatch. that was one rule that i've seen abused worse than a red headed step child. grenades tho... wow, really? i never really used them. i used to play on non standard sized tables that never really allowed you to get close enough to use them effectively.

Coragus
11-03-2008, 01:17