PDA

View Full Version : Orks!!!!!

godking
14-03-2008, 02:01
Are Orks a fun 1st army? I'm new to 40K(not 1 game) and need some info on the Boyz. How are the new rules, do they kick a** or suck? Not a powergamer, just want to win here and over there....:D oh and I like the way Orks look(#1 rule for picking your 1st army).

Gensuke626
14-03-2008, 02:19
Orks are an awesome army. Some builds play themselves while others require Finesse. They have many powerful options available and generally speaking, you'll be able to keep your opponent on his toes if you plan your list with just a bit o Kunnin. If it's your first army...sure go with the Green guys....just remember that you can't worry about them dying. They die like any other low point model....Fast and Frequently

intellectawe
14-03-2008, 02:38
Yes, orks are VERY fun to play! I recommend them as your first army whole heartedly.

Dirty Fingers
14-03-2008, 02:39
Well, you'll definitely have your moments of frustration (charging your boys into a unit of a berzerkers say....and having them all killed before they can even strike, despite charging), but overall, why not? Honestly, the new codex is overall far more hospitable than the last codex. just be prepared to do a lot of painting.

MadDogMike
14-03-2008, 03:15
Honestly the ONLY thing that might be bad about orks from a newbie standpoint is that by being a horde army you have to buy, assemble, and paint a lot of them. If that's not a problem, I can wholeheartedly recommend them; great models, a lot of humor, and an army that doesn't necessarily require difficult tactics to win.

starlight
14-03-2008, 03:22
Well, they *were* my first army and with their new costs, they are well on their way to being my largest.:D

As noted the only real downside for a beginner is the sheer number of models you get to paint if you go foot-slogging. That said, it's just as viable to go mounted on Bikes or Trukks.:D

Absolutely, go for it.:D

godking
14-03-2008, 04:59