PDA

View Full Version : 2 questions



505
15-03-2008, 17:08
ok I had a 2 on 2 game he and lizards vrs DE and skaven.

we had a small issue with drain magic since both are written different. one said the new rule for drain magic should be used and the other opinion is add 3 to the combat roll but disregard 4s,5s, and/or 6s (depending on power) we went with the second option.

now since HE are immune to panic when facing DE how does that effect things against skaven. ie a unit is destroyed by a skaven unit do other units panic. another example the DE shoots a unit taking 20% and then the skaven knock it down past the 25% mark do they take a panic check ?

theunwantedbeing
15-03-2008, 17:18
You use the lizardmen drain magic for lizardmen, you use the HE drain magic for HE's.
Its the only logical thing to do.
Just like the skaven ring of darkness isnt the same as the DE ring of darkness, HE drain magic isnt the same as Lizardmen drain magic.

The re-roll psychology tests vs DE's now rather than are immune to panic.....
They are simply immune to panic when fighting a DE army in the last book, so no panic when facing off vs DE's according to the rules.

Clearly multiple player battles involving HE's were not envisioned when the rules were written.

Tarax
15-03-2008, 18:58
As theinwantedbeing said regarding Drain Magic, use 2 different types of spell.

In the HE book is says that HE may re-roll Psych test when facing a DE army. So even when fighting Skaven besides DE, you can re-roll the test, whatever the source.

Necronoxz
15-03-2008, 19:34
If a DE shoot 20% from a unit and the skaven shoot 5% in the same shooting phase,
then you need to roll a panic test just normaal becouse the panic is caused by the skaven who shoot the last casalties ;)

Tarax
15-03-2008, 19:54
No and no.

In fact, if any the unit will have to test against the unit which scores the most casualties, as with fleeing from that Panic Test.

But as said, HE can re-roll the test when fighting DE, and they ARE still fighting DE.

Necronoxz
16-03-2008, 15:25
No and no.

In fact, if any the unit will have to test against the unit which scores the most casualties, as with fleeing from that Panic Test.

But as said, HE can re-roll the test when fighting DE, and they ARE still fighting DE.

yes but the source form the panic test is skaven when skaven shoot the last 5% to take the 25% so than the rule for the HE to reroll panic test from DE is not counting ;)

505
17-03-2008, 00:31
I was thinking old HE immune to panic when writing but yeah the question was if the skaven caused the psychology test is there still a reroll.

as stated yes and no.

yes-cause I am fighting DE
no-it wasnt DE that caused it.

so I'm still confused :D

MalusCalibur
17-03-2008, 00:47
It's very straightforward.

When HE's are fighting DE's, they can re-roll failed Psychology checks.

In your game, HE's (and Lizardmen) were fighting DE's (and Skaven).

Therefore, the HE's re-roll failed Psychology checks. Regardless of the source.

It makes sense from a fluff perspective, too. Seeing that they are fighting their oldest foes, the Dark Elves, the High Elves would stand resolute against them AND any allies they'd chosen to bring along. They're not going to forget their stoic determination to defeat the Dark Elves just because it isn't them personally causing the Psychology test.


MalusCalibur

xragg
17-03-2008, 13:39
Pretty sure all multiplayer rules are house rules to begin with. When we play multiplayer games, we treat stuff like this from the source.

If the HE are directly in combat with DE (even if its a large multiplayer, multiarmy combat), then they get their rerolls. A combat is a large swirling mess of all the units involved, so the HE could conceivably be trading blows with DE they may not be directly in base to base with.

If HE are fighting a skaven unit, then no, they would not get rerolls even if DE are on the battlefield. They worry about the immediate threat (the skaven causing the test) and not that their mortal foes are 300yds away across that hill. Just the same, DE have hatred for HE, but not for say Giant Eagles. Beasts/monsters typically dont share the "hatred" their owners do.

If HE need to take panic tests from shooting, they can reroll if DE did at least half the wounds. DE crossbows do 4 wounds to a 20 strong spear unit, then skaven pop one more guy with a pistol shot. The spearmen are going to view the DE shots as the bigger threat, not the pop shot by the pistol.

Like I said, these are all house/scenario rules as the main rule book deals with 1v1 battles.



It's very straightforward.

When HE's are fighting DE's, they can re-roll failed Psychology checks.

In your game, HE's (and Lizardmen) were fighting DE's (and Skaven).

Therefore, the HE's re-roll failed Psychology checks. Regardless of the source.

It makes sense from a fluff perspective, too. Seeing that they are fighting their oldest foes, the Dark Elves, the High Elves would stand resolute against them AND any allies they'd chosen to bring along. They're not going to forget their stoic determination to defeat the Dark Elves just because it isn't them personally causing the Psychology test.


MalusCalibur

Just saying you get rerolls for panic anytime a DE unit is on the board is sorta ridiculous. So you're saying HE get panic rerolls versus Dogs of War if they field a DE unit?