View Full Version : Magical banner effects

19-03-2008, 11:51
Lets say a unit has a magical banner.
The unit then suffers enough casualties to be reduced to just the unit champion.
Do the effects of the magical banner still apply?

19-03-2008, 12:15
only if the standard bearer with the magic banner is alive
if it is literally just the champion with noone else
then no
the banner has been lost

19-03-2008, 12:20
Good enough for me.
I really need to start picking up on things a little more in games....I'm losing it.

19-03-2008, 12:30
The champion counts as a normal model for all purposes not statet in the champion rules... so he can pick up the banner by RAW.
But I have never seen anybody play it this way so far.

Gazak Blacktoof
19-03-2008, 12:38
I think that's the conclusion we came to last time this came up on the boards. Essentially the champ ends up toting (tooting) the horn, the banner and his bonus profile if he's the last man standing.

19-03-2008, 12:51

No, you can only remove a *common* trooper instead of the standard bearer, the champion my not pick up the standard, as he doesn't fill the requirement. The Musician is not a common trooper as well, so he may not be carrying the standard - and vice versa.

And honestly, whoever thinks that those can be combined should be slapped senseless with the BRB, IMNSHO ;)



Gazak Blacktoof
19-03-2008, 13:09
See this thread here (http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=119332&highlight=champion+standard)for a similar argument.

Looks like it was less conclusive than I remember.