PDA

View Full Version : Marked Characters joining units



Ogre44
23-03-2008, 19:10
On page 46 of the Hordes of Chaos book the section on the Marks of Chaos states:
"The Mark affects all models in the unit and only characters bearing the same Mark can join the unit/ride in the chariot."

I understand that if a unit/chariot has the Mark of Khorne, a character without the Mark of Khorne cannot join that unit, and a character with a Mark of Khorne cannot join a unit that bears a Mark other than the Mark of Khorne.

What about units with no Marks at all?
Marauders, trolls, ogres, hounds, etc cannot have a Mark of Chaos at all.
Does this mean that they cannot be joined by characters, as all characters come standard with at least the Mark of Chaos Undevided?

theunwantedbeing
23-03-2008, 19:23
You cannot combine different marks.
if the unit has no mark to begin with there's nothing stopping you joining that unit.

slasher
23-03-2008, 19:24
All marks can join markless units as per the BRB, this is all units by default less those mentioned, or units with the same mark.

Ogre44
23-03-2008, 19:58
That' pretty much what I was thinking, but was hoping for clarification.

On a related note, if a character with the Mark of Chaos Undevided joins said Markless unit and they use his leadership for a psychology test and fail, can he use his Mark to reroll the failed test for the unit?

slasher
23-03-2008, 20:12
yes you can, reasoning....

1) pg 46 HoC, "the mark affects all models in the unit...."
2)pg 78 BRB, Characters & Units, "while a character is with a unit... his considered to be part of that unit in all repects."

W0lf
23-03-2008, 20:12
No. They cant use his ability in the same way a Nurgle Wargor dosnt make a beastherd to cause fear.

Falkman
23-03-2008, 20:21
yes you can, reasoning....

1) pg 46 HoC, "the mark affects all models in the unit...."
2)pg 78 BRB, Characters & Units, "while a character is with a unit... his considered to be part of that unit in all repects."
Yes, he becomes a part of the unit, meaning he is markless in all respects while he is in it.

slasher
23-03-2008, 20:23
Sorry I left out taking the rules for Stubborn as intent. A character who is stubborn grants this to the unit they join. (BGB pg 78). Note this is only for Undivided as the rules for nurgle, khorne and slaanesh are mentioned in the BGB and tzeentch gives nothing which could effect a unit.

Festus
23-03-2008, 21:39
Hi

An undivided character in a Marauder unit does exactly nothing with his Mark for the unit (although there can be rare cases when only he has to roll for Psy, he and only he can reroll it).
A Nurgle character makes the unit he joins immune to fear.
A Tzeentch character still is a sorcerer, so no problem there.
And a Khornate character will still be frenzied, but none of the unit will be ( this may mean that the character is forced to charge out of the unit all by himself, though ;) )

Festus

Yehoshua
24-03-2008, 02:26
Interesting. P.78 tells us that units wishing to charge a unit that does not cause fear, but contains a fear-causing character, take a fear test if they would fight the character.

It doesn't say anything about the unit with the fear-causing character charging other units...I presume the charged unit in that case would still take a fear test.