PDA

View Full Version : Wanna start a gunline army, any suggestion?

him_15
24-03-2008, 01:10
I've been playing fantasy for over two years, now owning three army: Lizardmen, Chaos and Vampire Count, all feature 2k pts worth of troop.
As you can see, none of these army have any (or less) shooting troops at all.
And I am considering to start a forth army which would rely on heavy gunline..
So what army shall I pick?

Johnnyfrej
24-03-2008, 01:26
Depends on the kind of "gunline" you want.

Empire
-Handgunners, Archers/Huntsmen and Crossbowmen. Good price for units that will hit less than half their shots on average. Can use lots of them for not a lot of points or cash.
-Great Cannons and Mortars. Extremely powerful warmachines. Won't missfire often and when they do the worse is they will kill the machine and not anything else.
-Helstorms and Helblasters. Even more powerful than Mortars/GCs. More prone to missfires also. When they blow you will really feel it.

Wood Elf
-Don't know anything really specific.
-Low model count.
-Lots of powerful skirmishers.
-Can hide in forests and move them closer with magic.

Dwarf
-Better and more expensive then Empire. Their Thunderers are much more survivable then Handgunners and they have T4 with a good save.
-Artillery isn't as powerful as Empire but will almost never missfire. Also can give them runes to do fance stuff like magic cannons.

These are the three most common. I suppose a HE army can make a gunline/magic army if they take hordes or archers, shadow warriors and bolt throwers with mages using HE magic.

-Private Jon

TheLionReturns
24-03-2008, 01:44
I'm not entirely sure WE can be a gunline. You can have a lot of shooting but your low toughness and low armour mean you will lose a shootout with most opponents. WE missile fire is merely for softening enemies before combined charges. Gunline also implies static which is not the way to play WE effectively.